top of page

Scott Stapp - SINNER'S CREED


I am not one to listen very much to the media, and when it comes to listening to the rock critics and the stories that go around, I rarely give an ear at all. So, I was unaware of pretty much any of the turmoil or controversy in the Creed camp during the day. I discovered Creed not too long after the first album, but pretty close to the second, so both are close in proximity to my first discovering them. I was almost an instant fan, and out of all of the 90's grunge and alternative bands, they were almost the only one that resonated with me at all. I was never one to call them a Christian band, but as a Christian myself, I looked heavily to their spiritual lyrics for the positive message I found. So, that aspect made me like them even more. This book opened my eyes to the whole behind-the-scenes happenings that at the time I could have cared less about. Also discovering the early life Scott had was quite an eye-opener. I felt so sorry for the way he was treated by his step-father in the name of Christianity, and was quite angered at that. So, I could understand a bit of why he turned and did what he did in his later life.

The struggles he went through sounded typical to other rock star lives I have read about, but the added pressure of a twisted theological aspect surely added additional weight to the scenario. If his recollection of everything in the Creed family is accurate, then hopefully those guys will read this and reconcile everything. It appears that may have somewhat happened since they did tour in 2012, but the book does not cover that era at all, so it leaves us wondering. This book was well written, kept my attention constantly, and for me was a real page turner, a bit more so than other music biographies I have read. While other bios I read have gone into much more details on the dirt that happens off the stage, this one did not spend as much time on specifics, but kept to a story of one man and his struggle with all that was going on around him. That struggle led him from an early life serving God, to a life serving music and himself, and returned full circle to what seems to be a positive future of his return to the foot of the cross and his dependence on his heavenly Father. I can only hope and pray that he keeps his footing this time.

Click button to like this post, or below to like our whole page

Heaven's Metal Magazine Presents: White Throne Radio
 Recent   
 Posts  
Archives
Heaven's Metal
bottom of page